Even More Books from DAW

Worldbuilders-Logo_Web_Smaller

This is a Worldbuilders blog.

Today’s blog is once again being brought to you by the Worldbuilders Team.  It’s gone so well the last few times, we thought we’d keep it up. Besides, Pat having more time to spend playing with his kids, catch up on email, and write is something I think we all can get behind.

We got so many books from DAW this year that, even though we already had a blog full of books from them, we’ve got another one just as full here.

This time around is extra cool, because almost every prize is a collection of books in a series.  DAW went out of their way to send along a bunch of these, so folks can have either the entire currently-published series, or at least a good start to it.  There are also a couple of ARCs for books that haven’t been released yet, for those of you who are interested.

Let’s get to it.

  • Sets of the Species Imperative series and Stratification series. All signed by Julie E. Czerneda.

Species - Stratification - COMBO

“Czerneda is a masterful storyteller and one of the best of the recent voices in science fiction. Her books deserve a place in just about any young adult collection.” – VOYA

Julie Czerneda’s writing has been praised across the board for her solid world building and believable alien biology. These sets are chock full of both.

  • Sets of the Cloudmages Series and the Nessantico Cycle series. All signed by S.L. Farrell.

Cloudmages - Nessantico Cycle - COMBO

“S.L. Farrell makes magic real with a story that encompasses the highest of classical high fantasy and the grittiest of real-world situations, told with never a misstep and never a pause. I read this in one sitting, breathing optional. It’s wonderful!” – Holly Lisle

  • Auction: Set of the Nessantico Cycle series.  All signed by S.L. Farrell.

MagicSeries-Standing

Since DAW was kind enough to send a couple of these sets, and get them signed none the less, we thought it’d be great to put up a set for auction, for someone who really wants it.

If that someone is you, be sure to go over here to bid.

  • Auction: An ARC of Immortal Muse.  Signed by Stephen Leigh. Due to be released in March 2014.

Immortal - Standing

S.L. Farrell is actually a pseudonym for Stephen Leigh, so we thought we’d show you some of his other work as well. This one looks pretty dark, but you have to love the concept–a couple manages to crack the code for immortality, but it comes with a hefty price tag that pits them against each other for centuries.

This signed ARC is for a novel that won’t be released until March, so head over here and bid on it if you want to read it early.

Willow Tate - Esther Diamon - GROUP

[About the Willow Tate series] “In fine, small-town mystery fashion, Paumanok Harbor is full of quirky people, many with odd little magic talents…. [A] charming series.” – Locus

“Fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series will appreciate [the Esther Diamond] series’ lively heroine and the appealing combination of humor, mystery, and romance.” – Library Journal

These two series meet the criteria for “fun mysteries with a supernatural bend and interesting characters.”  A little mystery, a quirky supporting cast, some creepy set pieces and baddies…and maybe a little romance. Because nothing brings people together like combustible bugs.

ForeignerSeries

“Veteran sf/fantasy author Cherryh plays her strongest suit in this exploration of human/alien contact, producing an incisive study-in-contrast of what it means to be human in a world where trust is nonexistent. A good purchase for most sf collections.” – Library Journal

The Foreigner series is an epic undertaking that explores politics, diplomacy and the day-to-day culture shock between radically different species as they grow, explore, and evolve (as people, you know, like you do). Cherryh’s exploration of the different cultures is so detailed and in-depth that we’re thinking if this stuff actually happens some time in the future, it’ll unfold exactly as it’s plotted out in these 14 books.  Prepare to have your mind expanded.

Collegium - House War - COMBO

[About the Collegium Chronicles] “A real page-turner…. Outstanding characters, especially Mags, will greatly please Valdemar fans.” – Booklist

[About the House War series] “This is a compelling story with riveting and finely wrought characters that will keep you up well into the night. This story will go down as one of the best novels in its genre, propelling West into the ranks of Robin Hobb and George R.R. Martin. It’s simply a great read; don’t miss it.” – The Maine Edge

Libriomancer-TurnOfTheLight-Silence-Lying-auction

This bundle of books was recommended by the folks over at DAW, and are a good sampler of a few new series you should consider picking up.  Pat reviewed Libriomancer over on Goodreads  back before it came out, which should be interesting enough, but the other two books are awesome as well.

All of the books in the bundle are signed, so they’re extra cool.  If it interests you, head over to the auction and bid.

AlienSeries

“Deliberately silly and derivative, the story turns into a hilarious romp in the vein of Men in Black or Ghostbusters.” – VOYA

Brett just started reading this series and said the concept is pretty slick, the dialogue (almost banter) is quick and witty, and it should be a fun ride.  That was enough to convince most of the rest of the office.

  • Sets of the Kara Gillian series and the White Trash Zombie series. Both by Diana Rowland.

Kara Gillian - White Trash Zombie - COMBO

The first two Kara Gillian books (Mark of the Demon and Blood of the Demon) haven’t arrived yet, but don’t worry – they’ll be included as well.

[About the Kara Gillian Series] “Rowland’s world of arcane magic and demons is fresh and original…[and her] characters are well-developed and distinct…. Dark, fast-paced, and gripping.” – SciFiChick

[About the White Trash Zombie series] “Not to be missed—all that’s required is a high tolerance for gray matter. For true zombiephiles, of course, that’s a no brainer.” – Library Journal

Brett also read the White Trash Zombie series and said he really enjoyed it: “Angel’s a strong, flawed, and completely endearing main character with a keen mind and an unfortunate knack for making bad decisions. You are always rooting for her.  The whole series works really well largely because it stays grounded–there’s something delightful about a zombie narrator doing battle with a zombie conspiracy while trying to hold down a job and earn her GED.”

  • Auction: An ARC of Dreamwalker by C.S. Friedman.  Due to be released in February 2014.

Dreamwalker-Lying

Fans of C.S. Friedman’s work should pay attention here.  This ARC is for the first book in a new series, which won’t be released for another month. It’s Friedman’s first foray into young adult fiction, and she’s bringing her entire arsenal with her. The buzz so far is that it’s darker and more mature than your average YA fiction, which tends to gets pretty dark and mature already.

We’re auctioning this one off so that the winner can still get it and read it before the book comes out, feeling all warm and special inside as they do so.  If you’d like that person to be you, head over here and bid.

IndaSeries

“A fantasy world fit for the most discriminating medieval partisan.” – Publishers Weekly

Our auction for this series last month went really well.  If you were as bummed as some of us were at missing out on it, we hope that this second set (sans awesome, hand stitched tapestry) being thrown into the lottery will raise your spirits. After all, since every $10 chipped in to the Team Page gets you another chance of getting it, it won’t take a huge investment.

Seven Petal - Mirrorlands - COMBO

“Rejoice…. Ross’s literary strength [is] her sensitivity to human needs and talents.” – Publishers Weekly

“Malan’s fantasy debut straddles two worlds, each detailed in vibrant colors and images. Believable characters and graceful storytelling make this a good addition to most fantasy collections.” – Library Journal

Tour of Merrimack - Karavans - COMBO

“[The Tour of the Merrimack series] is an amalgam of subgenres: military science fiction, space opera, time paradox, and alternate history…. This novel will prove thoroughly enjoyable to fans of military science fiction authors like David Weber and David Drake.” – The B&N Review

“What starts out as a simple tale of refugees escaping a war-torn land quickly becomes something more…. All the characters are beautifully drawn, and Roberson has uncannily lyrical phrasing.” – Book Critic

DragonNimbus - Princess - COMBO

“Radford’s considerable gifts as a mesmerizing storyteller shine with undeniable luster.” – RT Book Reviews

[About the Princess series] “…will appeal anyone who yearns for the heroines of their childhood-or just a witty, well-constructed adventure tale about powerful women stepping up with skill and cleverness. ” – Publishers Weekly

MagicExLibris - BobbyDollar - COMBO

“This quirky urban fantasy would appeal to science-fiction/fantasy readers, fans of the Dresden Files and the Inkheart series, or anyone looking for an adventure featuring a quirky cast.” – VOYA

“Part urban fantasy, part spy thriller, part hard-boiled adventure, The Dirty Streets of Heaven is a worthwhile and entertaining new addition to the genre.” – TOR.com

*  *  *

There you have it.  Another extraordinarily full blog of awesome books, the vast majority of which are all winnable by making a donation to the Team Page.

In case you’ve missed any of them, you should really check out our Stretch Goals to see what’s been achieved, and what’s on its way.  We just crossed a super cool one from Peter Orullian, and the next bunch of them look pretty awesome…

As usual, you can find more information about Worldbuilders at our website or in Pat’s blog.

If you want to see any of the other auctions we have going, you can check out our ebay page.

And if you’re curious about what other stuff we’ve posted so far, you can see it all in the Lottery Library.

This entry was posted in Worldbuilders 2013By Amanda2 Responses

2 Comments

  1. Ritsenki
    Posted January 8, 2014 at 7:55 AM | Permalink

    Feeling slightly impoverished but full of warm fuzzies. Keep up the great work! :)

  2. kylechristophermilla
    Posted January 9, 2014 at 2:35 PM | Permalink

    Love the books. Love the blog. Love the work. Ciao!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Our Store

  • Previous Posts

  • Archives

  • My Twitter

  • Bookmark this Blog

    (IE and Firefox users only - Safari users, click Command-D)