Novelties: Signed Books for July and August

As some of you who follow my facebook and twitter might have noticed, I’ve been traveling a lot lately.

That, combined with the fact that our Geeks Doing Good fundraiser went incredibly well, means that I, and the rest of the Worldbuilders Team, have been absolutely swamped the last few weeks.

All the Peanuts 03

Well. *I’ve* been swamped. The worldbuilders team just seems to be lounging around on… oh. Wait. Those are packing peanuts, aren’t they?Like, a billion packing peanuts for the billion packages we’ll be sending out….

Never mind.

Anyway, between San Diego Comic Con and Spain, I’ve been on the road for more than two weeks. I’d thought to myself that I might be able to post a couple blogs while I was traveling, but apparently that was just my lightly repressed crazy talking, because no. When I’m traveling and I have to choose between blog and sleep, sleep wins every time.

Because of this terrible weakness on my part, I wasn’t able to post up the July Novelties in a timely fashion. So we’re going to combine July and August’s books into one great big super-bomb of delicious newly-released bookness.

As always, every one of these books is a first edition. All of them are signed. Many of them are doodled in or otherwise cool.

And all the money you spend in The Tinker’s Packs goes to charity.

  • Dust and Light. Doodled, signed, and dated by Carol Berg

DustAndLight - Blog

“A tale of magic and politics, of intrigue and betrayal.  Set in a rich world, told through the eyes of a compelling and sympathetic hero, [Berg’s] store twists and turns.” – D.B. Jackson

If you’re interested in this beautiful new book, grab it over here.

TheLost - Blog

“Told in a descriptive style that perfectly captures the changing settings, Durst’s novel is a page-turner.” – Booklist on Ice

This one is available right here.

ChildOfAHiddenSea - blog

“Dellamonica’s tale is one of intrigue and power struggles, jealousy and competition, culture shock and the alienation of discovering your family is not what you thought.” – Marie Brennan

Grab your own copy over here.

TropicOfSerpents - Blog

“If you’re ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you.  Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.” – RT Book Reviews

This awesome book is available for you right here.

FullFathomFive - Blog

“I’m having Max Gladtstone killed.  He’s too good already to be allowed to live.  If this is early work, the rest of us are out of a job.” – Elizabeth Bear

I kind of agree with Bear there. I just today posted up a review of Max’s first book in this series and I loved the second one just as much if not more. I’m currently halfway through this one, and it looks like he’s going to make the hat trick.

If you want to see what all the fuss is about, get your copy here.

GoblinEmperor - Blog

“Challenging, invigorating, and unique.  If court intrigue is your wine of choice, The Goblin Emperor is the headiest vintage I’ve come across in years.” – Scott Lynch

Katherine Addison (aka Sarah Monette) went above and beyond for these, so if you want your own lovingly doodled copy, grab one here. The Tor logo never looked so good.

  • Elisha Barber and an ARC of Elisha Magus. Both Signed by E.C. Ambrose

DarkApostle - Blog - BothSignatures

“Elisha Barber is an edgy, vivid story with engaging characters and a well-drawn setting that’s almost, but not quite, our own history.  I was drawn right in, quick as a slash of a barber’s razor.” – Kevin J. Anderson

This one is particularly cool because you’re getting a hardcover copy of the first book in the series, in addition to an ARC of the second book, which was just released.

We’ve only got two sets of these books, so get them while you can.

*     *     *

We’re also throwing a new poster up in the store…

Kvothe - Shane Tyree - Blog

Kvothe and the Scraeling was a piece of bonus art Shane did while working on the Name of the Wind playing cards.

You can buy a copy up over here, along some other cool posters….

That’s all for now, everybody. I’ll share some pictures and stories from Spain and Comic Con soon…

pat

This entry was posted in Novelties, The Tinker's PacksBy Pat19 Responses

19 Comments

  1. Carlos Garrido
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 12:04 PM | Permalink

    Don’t get scared, but there is a stuffed monkey on your gazillion packing-peanuts. Just saying.

  2. firebird
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 12:06 PM | Permalink

    8 think this is the first time I’ve seen you post a blog that was at 3 am.

  3. bjezerey
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 12:50 PM | Permalink

    That Goblin Emperor. Do want!

  4. Jasperdafo
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 1:00 PM | Permalink

    I envisioned the Scraeling to be rounder, and overall cuter. Not sure why, maybe just because it goes against its ruthless and deadly nature.

    • Sahirioth
      Posted August 8, 2014 at 4:16 AM | Permalink

      I thought of it as a bulky spider/crab combination. Black and metallic/stony. Thicker, shorter legs and about twice the size of that thing. Why would you imagine it as cute?

      • Jasperdafo
        Posted August 8, 2014 at 2:09 PM | Permalink

        You don’t find smooth, round rocks with legs cute? =]

  5. isaiasw
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 1:53 PM | Permalink

    Just passing by to say that I love your work and I will wait as much as it takes to keep reading your books. Without ever bitching about how long it took. It’s worth the wait. Also, she’s your mom, of course you miss her. That feeling is the proof that someway she is still there for you <3 *Comment unrelated to this post, but related to the facebook one*

  6. cynrtst
    Posted August 7, 2014 at 2:09 PM | Permalink

    The Goblin Emperor is excellent. If I wasn’t poor this month and didn’t already have it, I’d snatch that up. Recommended by Pat and Scott Lynch, what more do you want?

  7. Posted August 8, 2014 at 1:01 AM | Permalink

    Love you!

    Just sayin’

  8. Marvelld
    Posted August 8, 2014 at 6:22 AM | Permalink

    Like any obliging fan, I didn’t comment on your facebook post. Despite wanting to. You said before that you didn’t want to lead us to believe that your life was all shiny (well, not those words exactly), I did feel the urge to reach and and virtually comfort you, but thought whats the point, he’s already said he’s not going to read it. So, instead I waited patiently for a blog update, I don’t know why but this feels more private. I’m waffling, so I just wanted to say thank you for sharing some of your darker/sad thought and moods with us all. I know for me, it feels like we’re friends when you post things like that, and reminds others that you are a normal person. The true fans are absolutely desperate for the next book, but we’re also desperate for you to have a normal life (well, a normal life for a geek anyway?). We are happy to wait, and will celebrate like mad when that wonderful day comes.

    Those packing peanuts look awesome. My colleague sat on a giant bag of paper shredding the other day. I wanted to have a go but the bag split. This made me sad. Funny things like that please me, I used to enjoy the feeling of bird seed on my hands. My nan used to have a budgie, and when she wasn’t around I would see how much of my hand and arm I could fit into the bag. I’m going to shush now.

    Hope you manage to get some rest soon!

  9. kieralucas
    Posted August 8, 2014 at 6:26 AM | Permalink

    Can you please write a book of dialogue purely from Elodin?

  10. Posted August 8, 2014 at 12:34 PM | Permalink

    I was just thinking, I don’t know if it is something Shane regularly does, but he and Worldbuilders should both probably start watermarking the online pictures of his artwork.
    I like to have faith in humanity too, but unfortunately, it’s really easy to pirate these kinds of great pieces, as well as terribly tempting.
    Just a recommendation of course, I’ve thought about it a couple times that Shane’s work has come up so I’m just finally saying something about it. He is a really great artist and I’d like to see him reap the benefits of that as much as humanly possible, as well as Worldbuilders, of course.

    Happy Travels Pat and good luck getting all that work done Worldbuilders Team.

  11. MahadiSilsmentor
    Posted August 8, 2014 at 9:22 PM | Permalink

    I’m a fan…in that where I used to make a point of reading Juliet Marillier at least once a year I’m now reading Kvothe’s stories two or three times a year. As much as I am impatient for the third book, I really admire everything you’re doing with WorldBuilders. And I’m sure you’ll reach that balance between your work and your charity and your own life. But I wanted to also ask a question that I haven’t seen broached elsewhere…who/where are the princesses? In his wry self introduction he mentions saving princesses from sleeping barrow kings…Is this a big spoiler? Seems like it could be, given my personal suspicions about Denna. But do you have any insights?

  12. avidreadergirl
    Posted August 9, 2014 at 1:07 PM | Permalink

    Missed The Goblin Emperor, Damn it, but I got Full Fathom Five, which I am very much looking forward to as I’m halfway through book one and loving it right now.

    Thanks for all the good you do Pat and the WB Team, that allow us to do good AND get goodies. Win/Win :)

  13. AlistairM
    Posted August 12, 2014 at 7:34 AM | Permalink

    Maybe you could have your sleep removed? Like Lorne did when he worked Wolfram & Hart.

    Loads more free time to do what you like, plus people have to do what you say.

    You may have to battle a giant evil Pat every now and again, small price to pay though if you ask me.

  14. Brady Dill
    Posted August 18, 2014 at 1:07 AM | Permalink

    Perhaps it might be better titled “Kote and the Scraeling”…

  15. ability
    Posted August 20, 2014 at 3:12 AM | Permalink

    a question out of topic where can i find to buy the name of the wind so that it would ship to eu more specific lithuania?

  16. Kimberlyand
    Posted January 7, 2015 at 9:39 AM | Permalink

    Oh man. I was totally wondering last night what a Scraeling looked like.
    This is great.
    I definitely thought its body was going to be a big bigger (but similarly shaped), but I like it better like this.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Our Store

  • Previous Posts

  • Archives

  • My Twitter

  • Bookmark this Blog

    (IE and Firefox users only - Safari users, click Command-D)